ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a running 85 300 turbo engine and 5 speed, and a running 82 turboengine and 5 speed and I cant decide which to put into my 240z any suggestions

·
Registered
1,400 Posts
Well I'm not an expert, but I'm probably as close as your are gonna get, regarding the V6 turbo swap anyways....Because I just finished a v6 swap...

There is a lot of variables to your question...and a big one is $$$ a L6 turbo swap can be done in a couple of weekends if your competent working on Z's and EFI stuff...a V6 swap is a whole other bag of beans...custom steering mods, frame mods, custom motor mounts, custom tranny mounts, alt brackets, brake and fuel lines need to be relocated a bit too. Custom exhaust, custom throttle linkage, shifter linkage, custom hood latch, custom driveshaft, as well as a host of other minor details...Whew!! not to really scare you off, but I did this to be different, not becuase it was cost effective..I could have dropped in a V8 for 1/4 of the cost of having all that stuff done. Sure looks cool though..and there is significant performance possibilites as well.

Most folks will quickly step up to say how easy and cheap a l6 turbo is to get into a 240. And best of all.. almost all of the hard stuff is bolt on..motor mounts, tranny, throttle, clutch..etc.... It is also a far more tried and proven swap...mine.....well...I have never seen one like it...

I have an article on the zdriver.com site that gives an idea of what is involved...

ZR8ED

·
Registered
433 Posts