ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1,400 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
You know I've been coming to this site for more than 3 years now..hmm has it really been that long? hehehe

ok ok back to my point..

I've heard for years, people swaping diffs and trannies to get certain characteristics from our z's. off the line/top speed/tight autox/ large racet tracks...all kinds of reasons why someone may want to change ratios..

Now this may seem obvious, but i don't recall anyone trying it....how about some of the ratios afforded in the 510 cars? their trannies bolt right up correct? Now I know they may be too weak for some of the high powered z's out there, but how about for mild z's? surely they can handle even a moderately modified z....

I wonder if they are lighter?...they must have very different gear ratios...For a lightened 240, that is still fairly mild in the engine bay, could benefit from a lighter tranny, and possibly much different ratios, and ratio spacing between gears...

I don't have any answers, it would not even benefit me directly anyways...it just hit me..."I wonder if a 510 tranny would work in a Z?"

It could be a cost effective way of placing the z's hp where YOU want or need it for YOUR driving style...

HMMM

Any thoughts?

ZR8ED

·
Registered
5,716 Posts
or the trucks