ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my brakes squeal alot, cause I lost the anti squeal shims I put the squeal stuff and it dont work. so my friends sister told me to put WD-40 to stop the squeling, I ask how would that stop, she replied "just do it my husband is a mechnic so trust me"....ummmm NO!

Personalaly I dont think it will do anything but prevent me from stopping.

G

·
0 Posts
no. oil and brakes are just a bad idea. Brakes need friction to stop the car. Oil lubricates removing friction. So your brakes will work worse. If a mechanic recommended this, I would say he is an idiot. And I am a mechanic.

·
Registered
143 Posts
No-oo-oo-oo WD-40 or any other lube on brake parts. You'll spin that sucker at 25mph if you do. No tellin' what you'll hit.

Frank

·
Registered
3,133 Posts
You need to get someone to do the brakes the right way, shims or not, they shouldn't squeek and some of that antisqueel stuff don't work, use sly-glide on the back of the pads, same stuff you use to lubricate the caliper slides and pad contacts and a little on the rubber boot for the piston, keeps it moist and will last forever. My brake jobs NEVER come back with a squeek, even them **** Volvos, I'm very fussy about the most important part of the car. and WD-40 isn't a lubricant, it absorbs into the metal and disperses water, hence the name, "W"ater "D"ispersant the 40th formula finaly worked and impressed the Gov. so away it went. Good thing he didn't tell you to spray PB blaster on them. For now, just turn up the radio. ')

·
Registered
2,001 Posts
It does work sometimes but it is not the correct way to fix a brake noise issue. If you don't spray to much on the brakes it won't hurt anything. I learned that little trick from an old timer 25 years ago.