Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
596 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well,
After a few weeks of rebuilding, and a long night fighting my P.O.S. Pacesttter header (never buy one, by the way). My triples are installed, and the Z is up and RUNNING. To say the differnce is great, would be an understatement.
I picked up a set of 42mm DCOE's with intake and linkage, intake was broken in half on the balance tube. They had been sitting for at least 6-7 years on a dusty shelf at the local Z guru's shop. I ordered kits and some jets form Weber, and called my welder freind for a hook up, and started dipping, brushing and polishing my way to installation day. I have been restoring a 77 280 for the last 8 months, removed the F.I. Rebuilt the motor with flat tops, header, crane cam and hardware.. added a crane Import power MSD box and coil. I also did all the good undercar mods, urethane bushings, sway bars, struts, tokico lowering springs 3.90 rear end, 16" wheels etc.. I initiallly put on a set of good ole SU's, I've run this combo on my 240 and liked it. But I was unsatisfied with the lower end power, and not having the dough to do the adjustable F.I. Turbo thing...I decided to pursue the Webers. Well I'm here to tell you, I was not dissapointed at all. The torque, and power I picked up is amazing. The sound that bellows form under my hood when all six barrells fly open, would have been all the work alone....the freight train pulling power does wonders for my adrenaline gland. If any one ever considers doing this swap, I highly recommend it. Have a Z day. Tim

·
Registered
1,784 Posts
That's cool, congratulations! I've also always loved the sound of a triple carb Z wide open. I am getting real used to hearing a turbo spool on an L28 now, and I think I like that too.

·
Registered
24 Posts