Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Just registered as a new user and beginning my quest here. Anyhow, I don't have much mechanical experience and it appears everyone else here does, so one reason I joined to learn from you.....my question is this.....I am going to purchase a Haynes manual for my new 280z 1977. Does this manual show step by on how do do things like brake replacement, strut change and basics things I can do to begin fixing the car up? Also, do you see this as something a novice can do, or am I just inevitably screwed and just pay someone. I am trying to save some money on the basics so I can save for more important things I can't do.

·
Registered
930 Posts
Your money would best be spent on a 77 fsm instead. However, these are getting exspensive. Haynes or Chilton will give alot of specs, just not the greatest of info.

·
Registered
2,710 Posts
Im not a mechanic, either. I have little or no experience with working on my Z. Ive made it with the help of alot of great people here. Personally, I dont use the Haynes, sorry I bought it.

I have a FSM of the 75.... not sure how close that is to the 77... if the experts think it will help you, Id be more than happy to send it. Best of luck with your Z!!

·
Registered
94 Posts
go to courtesy nissan and buy one of their fsm on a cd for ur car for only like 60-70bucks that will show u everything u need to know, also Z's are some of the easiest cars to work on

·
Registered
5,261 Posts