ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
680 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 280zxt 1983 dont leak oil. What are the pros and cons of using Synthetic in a turbo car?

·
Registered
529 Posts
Longer engine life, extended time between oil changes, less cold start friction, and the car just runs a lot better, smoother, quieter, quicker. I switched in my 77 and noticed an immediate difference. My has 205K and is using some oil and leaking some so I switched back to the part synthetic for price reasons. I use Castrol 20W-50. I don't know of any cons.

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Believe test data: Synthetics no benefit

I am an engineer, and I appreciate real testing with measured data to quantify the performance of products
like this that make claims of reduced wear, longer engine life, more performance, etc.

Consumer Reports magazine tested synthetics (and all
the major oil brands) by running them in dozens of
identically rebuilt engines in New York taxi cabs. They
even modified the engines to the older style mechanical
lifters that show faster wear.

Their conclusion: There was NO difference between the different oils, and the synthetics made no difference.
They concluded this by measuring the wear on the parts (which is what oil is supposed to prevent)

There was no measurable difference between the
different oil brands, or the synthetics.

Bottom line: Save your money. Don't buy the synthetics
or Slick 50. Buy a brand that has the ASME certification, and don't worry.

They also tested changing the oil twice as often as
recommended. Once again, no measurable difference.

Enjoy your ride. Skip the snake oil!

Oh yeah, cons: I have heard of synthetics turning minor oil leaks into major ones!

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
<b>RE: synthetic Motor oil</b>

There's a big article in "Beemer" (a BMW mag) about synthetic oils. It would probly answer all your questions.

·
Registered
107,695 Posts