ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
950 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I posted about this yesterday, and checked the archives. I was wondering if anyone has had this problem and can tell me what it might be.

between 1500-2000 rpm's the motor seems to vibrate, and then smoothes out until about 4500rpm's and starts a different type of vibration. Im not sure if this vibration is just the normal vibration on the turbo l28 motors. Can some of you tell me if your motor does this past these rpms? thanks. any ideas what the problem can be?

I did recently replace the clutch and pressure plate, but i want to check the easier stuff before having to pull the tranny out. Its kind of a bitch to do.

Thanks......NB

· Registered
1,351 Posts
Just my .o2, and remember I am not a mechanic, but I think you are headed in the wrong direction. Vibration is caused by something rotating. So, first of all have you check your tires?/ Are they balanced properly? That was a problem on mine. Secondly, it could be the engine itself. Does this vibration occur when the clutch is in or out? Thaty will tell us whether or not it is the engine. These engines are naturally balanced, but that presumes that they are running properly. Especially with fuel injection, if one cylinder is more powerful than the next that will cause a vibration. On mine replacing the EFI connectors solved a number of vibration-related problems. With an EFI car, corrosion=resistance and the whole system is dependent on resistances being right. Corrosion in a connector will @!#$ up the performanc eof that connector. I suppose with carbs that this could be caused by uneven compression as well. If this vibration still occurs when the clutch is in, then it is not the engine. If it is not the tires, then it may be something more major. On mine it was; the engine not being properly tuned and electrical problems in the EFI, and the tires. Get back to us.

· Registered