ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm a senior in high school and i'm taking auto tech 2 next semester, I've been saving up for a couple of months delivering pizza and i'm looking to buy a first generation 240z. i've been looking online every night researching them and i wanted to know what the best way to fix rust on the unibody ie. floor boards, roof ect. just in case i look at a z with some rust. what type of welder should be used and what is the process like. any help would be appreciate. thanks.

·
Registered
2,156 Posts
my first suggestion is dont buy a rusty car to begin with.
look on ebay ive seen ones that are from rust/snowbelt statest
that were garaged.

if u have to buy a rusty car remove all the bondo first thing off. it holds moisture
and accelerates the rot.

a cheap mig welder can be had for a couple hundred. get the kind without
the argon cylinder. they have special wire that doesnt need argon. the welds
are not as pretty but u are on a budget. use a drill or a spot weld drill to
remove spot welds anywhere u can. its cleaner to remove whole panels

get an angle grinder to cut your panels off the car
plenty of sparks so invite the neighbors for an early 4th of july
no fancy plasma cutters for you :(

·
Registered
5,716 Posts
Buy a car without rust, and buy the most car you can afford up front. That way you can actually DRIVE the thing rather than have it spread all over your garage getting repairs for various ailments. Rust is the worst of these, and the most discouraging to fix as where there's some obvious, there's always more hidden.

·
Registered
107,695 Posts