ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is the 74 260z considered a rare car? I ask because I have one that is in good shape. But it had an engine fire. I am curious for feed back as to whether I should do the extra work to fix this one or try to find another z to customize. Also is the 260z tempered steel? An engine fire could have mad the frame weak.

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
i'm no expert, but I thought I read somewhere that the 260 was the slowest of the bunch...240, 260, 280, 280ZX, 300ZX.
and the frame isn't that **** hot to begin with, is it?
if I were you, and there were 240's around, I'd try for one of those..
but I don't think there are many 260', to answer your question....they were only made for a year and a half or so..
if im' way off course, someone tell me

matty

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I know that the 260z was only made for one year, 1974. That would make it pretty rare. I don't know a whole lot about them other then that. I know I have never seen one and I have seen a 1970 Fairladay with the rear view mirrors on the hood driving down the road. If I am not mistaken they had the least amount of horsepower out of the 240s and 280s because they had come up with stricter laws on that kind of thing. I read that somewhere. I imagine you could put a 240 or a 280 engine in it and have a nice collectors car.
Dodie

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
<b>Only sold in the U.S. for one year.</b>

A friend from the U.K. once told me, if i remember correctly, that they had 240Z,260Z,and then 280ZX over there. But while we had 280Z's they still had 260Z's until the ZX came out.

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
<b>RE: Only sold in the U.S. for one year.</b>