ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there, Z lovers. I'm new to the z-site, but I think it's a great looking car and I'm thinking of buying one. I was wondering if someone could tell me waht I would expect to pay for a '70-'72 240Z in decent condition (not needing a lot of work). Thanks, dudes.

·
Registered
90 Posts
> Have you driven a z before? If not I recommend a test drive to be sure that it is the type of vehicle you really want. Understand that vehicles of this age require consistent maintenance and often times need a moderate amount of work, regardless of previous history.
A 240-z, with little rust (they all rust), needing a moderate amount of work can range from $2000 to $8000+. Just be careful, and have an experienced mechanic/body expert assess any vehicle before you buy. Expect to invest towards the $10K range in the long run to get a z that rates very good to excellent. It gets expensive. Examples? New Dash: Up to $800, New interior, up to $500, New Seats $400, good body work, $2500 easy. Struts, springs, ball joints and other assorted mechanics $2000 easy. We are up in the $6000 range now, not including purchase price. Want a/c? Add $800. I think you get the message. Anyways, I love my 240, and I think it's worth every penny of what I put into it.
Be sure you share the passion before you buy so you are not disappointed. Enjoy the ride.

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
> Hey there, Z lovers. I'm new to the z-site,
> but I think it's a great looking car and I'm
> thinking of buying one. I was wondering if
> someone could tell me waht I would expect to
> pay for a '70-'72 240Z in decent condition

Hey! I bought a '72 240Z for $1,800 and spent about $400
on parts before I get it road-worthy. (It had really bad steering
jitter.) I doubt you'll find a Z of this year for a reasonable price
that doesn't need work...