ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9,534 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am seriously leaning towards re-painting my front bumper as it looks like shite due to them not using flexpaint and it cracked. also my rockguard needs to be re painted, and ive got some stuff on the fenders that bothers me so i'm ganna repaint them too. anyway im no noob to the paint gun or spray painting/prep work... but i am a noob to paint. and what paint for whta surface and clearcoats so maybe someone can clear something up for me. I obviously want this to match the rest of the car. I've been told that you can have your paint "laser" matched to your existing paint to factor in fade and everything. when i do this, i get a special paint mixed obviously, but can they make that in the special "flex paint" that goes on the urthane front and rear bumpers?? also, what about clear coats? anyone? thoughts? advice tat you could pass along?

·
Registered
673 Posts
you dont need special "flex paint" ... it's an additive you mix with the paint to make it flex. so it can be added to any color.

·
Registered
1,637 Posts
Don't go the cheap route. buy good paint especially if your just learning, the expensive paints are a lot easier to paint with and get a good finish without orange peeling, or other paint problems. I like dupont the best of all. I would go with all dupont paint, clear, hardner, and reducers. For what you want to paint it will be around 200$ in paint, clear etc.. alone. not to mention your wax removers, da papers, etc....

·
Registered
602 Posts
good subject ive always wanted to paint my own car but never knew how ive found alot of writeups and step by steps on how to do this in the past but still scared to try ....i was offered a deal by the local macco here but they have a terrible reputation.....they use dupont paints now so maybe its better ...they wanted to give me 5 coats of color and 3 of clear for 300 dollars ...not bad i guess