ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I stated in my previous post, the #5 piston on my 71 has melted, seems to be caused by timing advanced too far. Since I need to replace one of the pistons, I'd like to replace them all at the same time. Now, I need help from the beginning. I have no experience with engine block. Which pistons should I use?? I have a P90 head which had been modified to be used with dished pistons. Oh, it's a n42/l28 block by the way. Can I get used set of pistons, or do I HAVE to get a new set?? I know new set is always better, but I am on a tight budget. Any tips or advice on removing/installing pistons on a motor still in the car?? I don't have equipment nor space to remove the engine from the car. Any input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!

Hide

PS. Please let me know if you have a set of L28 dished pistons/rings, or whatever I seem to need, that you're willing to part with. Thanks!!

· Registered
497 Posts
If you have dished pistons in it right now the easiest would be just to replace with new/used. If you want to spend a bit more time you could get flatop pistons and check the valve clearance and CR to be sure everything would work. However, doing this could be more time consuming/tough especially for a first timer at it.

You don't need new pistions but you need to make sure that the ring gap is not excessive in the used pistons. I did exactly what you are proposing and spent approx $30/ea. for pistons new from Nissan. I bought new Nissan rings too. I replaced the pistons with the block in the car. The process was something like this.

MAKE SURE YOU PUT THE CAR AT "TDC" BEFORE THE FOLLOWING:

1. pull the head w/ manifolds. (Get someone to help ya!) Don't forget to block the timing chain so it doesn't fall off(replace it while your there if it needs it.)
2. pull the oil pan