ZCar Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1983 280zx N/A
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!
I am new to the Z world and am almost done rebuilding my '83 zx but have hit a roadblock getting the fuel injectors to work... When I turn the key to run position, I can hear the fuel pump and injector relays buzzing and clicking erratically (honestly sounds like they're speaking Morse code) resulting to the fuel pressure to slowly build and bounce all over the place. There is fuel flowing out of the return hose, and jumping the pump to a constant 12v it works no problem but the injectors don't seem to be firing. I've swapped both relays to no change, checked all the pin connections on the ecm harness based on the fsm pages efec 85 to efec 96 and all looks good except when I probe the efi relay (efec 95) I get approximately 0.01 volts. And the same reading at the relay harness as well. The injectors are getting 12v between the plug and engine ground but I guess no signal to open and close. The only thing I have not inspected was continuity on the fusible links.

I have searched online for answers and scoured the fsm for days but I am running out of ideas. Can someone please point me in a better direction, or at least shine some knowledge on my situation before I pull whats left of my hair out?!?!

Thank you all in advance!

·
Registered
13 Posts