Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all-

New here and just had a couple questions. I searched on these, but couldnt really find the answers I was looking for. I am a novice when it comes to cars and repairs.

I just inherited a 82 280ZXT from a friend, and it needs some work.

1. When I accelerate, I hear a clicking/knocking noise, but it seems only to occur when the car is switching gears. The car is an automatic. I press the gas, it clicks and barely accelerates above 10mph, i let off the gas and reapply softly, and it will seem to catch, and the car takes off. This always happens when the car is cold, but very rarely after i have driven it a few miles. Any ideas?

2. When I turn on the A/C or the Heater, I get air blowing out of only one vent, the one on the floor by the passengers side footwell. I checked all the switches and knobs, and it should be blowing out up top but it doesnt. Also, the air never gets cold. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance! :)
Joe

·
Registered
439 Posts
Tranny Low on Fluid?

A/C needs freon, Vacum lines, First places to start. Might also check to see it the duct work is still in the dash.

Zdale

·
Registered
290 Posts
The air is problably the hoses going out of your air boxes that are either disconnected or rotted out and are dumping all the air, cold or hot straight out of the heater box holes to around your feet. You can rebuild it with some new hose and some cheap rubber weatherstripping.

-BlaZed

·
Registered
930 Posts
Kradokk , where are you located? I have a turbo auto you can have but I live in florida and shipping ain't going to cut it.(83)

·
Registered
1,786 Posts