ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 71 240z that I have been autocrossing for about a year now. I was planning to buy an LSD but I was recently offered an R200 with a welded carrier (cheap). I am aware of the at least some of the drawbacks of a welded diff but
I am pretty tempted to stick it in and try it.
Any thoughts? Thanks

·
Registered
529 Posts
I have some experience autocrossing a Z with a welded R-200 w/4.625 ratio.

You can expect the car to want to push accelerating out of turns. It will also be a little stubborn on initial turn in. However, the power application is quite incredible. You can pretty much steer the car w/the back end. It's a lot of fun, but not as fast around an autocross course than an LSD. Once you get used to it, you will undoubtedly post quicker times than w/out it. You will also experience increased tire wear. If its cheap enough, then I say try it. Whay do you have to loose, except for some time?

Ian

> I have a 71 240z that I have been
> autocrossing for about a year now. I was
> planning to buy an LSD but I was recently
> offered an R200 with a welded carrier
> (cheap). I am aware of the at least some of
> the drawbacks of a welded diff but
> I am pretty tempted to stick it in and try
> it.
> Any thoughts? Thanks

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
> I have a 71 240z that I have been
> autocrossing for about a year now. I was
> planning to buy an LSD but I was recently
> offered an R200 with a welded carrier
> (cheap). I am aware of the at least some of
> the drawbacks of a welded diff but
> I am pretty tempted to stick it in and try
> it.
> Any thoughts? Thanks