ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
An 83 280zx, everything is peachy but cylinder #1 (or one cylinder, I wasn't clear on this) has low compression (I still have to find out how low), but still runs. Car has plenty of modifications. My question lies in this: I know that I can buy another engine for 'relatively' cheap, but wouldn't it be a better option to just replace the ring or whatever it is the problem with the cylinder (the guy thinks the ring is getting old...with 155K miles it is :p).

I'm new to the Z scene and have wanted one for awhile, and only recently got the opportunity to buy one, so please forgive these questions :)

·
Registered
3,488 Posts
Tough to come up with a recommendation with just the info you have given us.

The engine probably needs some more detailed diagnostics to determine the extent of the problem. Can you fix it yourself or will you be paying retail prices to fix? Is this going to be your daily driver or a toy for weekends and such? How's the condition of the car (rust?) What's the condition of the interior and paint? Is the price good? 155k isn't unreasonable.

·
Registered
741 Posts
I have read this somewhere. If you can get to the car to do a compression check on the cylinder that is producing low numbers. Warm the car up and do the compression check. then squirt a little motor oil in the spark plug hole and re-test the compression. If it comes up to the numbers of the rest of the cylinders then it is more than likely the ring. If not it is probably something else like the valves.

When looking at a Z (especially a first gen) you can't look at it as you would a new car. You have to expect that some things will need fixing. Honestly when I bought my 72 the lack of rust was more important to me than the compression of the engine. But like Willie said you have to weigh the problems against your ability to fix them yourself.

·
Registered
996 Posts