ZCar Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I recently got my new (to me) 83 280zx with only 81K original miles, and the individual who sold it to me said that the gasoline tank needed to be restored or a new one purchased, as well as the sending unit. I dismantled the tank and sending unit and found it to be heavily rusted. The owner claimed it had been sitting in his garage since 1992, with a full tank of gas, and that he had only started it on rare occasions. Was wondering if its possible to restore sending unit and fuel tank, or would it be better to replace it with something else? Im very new to Z's and just need people opinions and thoughts on this. I'm wondering if the sending unit and gasoline tank can be restored, or if it's preferable to replace them with something else. I'm new to Z's and would like to hear other people's thoughts on this.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Check with local radiator shops to see about restoring and reusing your current tank. They should be able to tell you if it is salvageable. Sourcing a replacement may be difficult.

I'd replace the sending unit, etc. for peace of mind while it's all out.

·
Registered
2,329 Posts
Question: Were you able to start the car when you bought it?

www.xenonzcar.com
www.thezstore.com
www.nissanpartsdeal.com

Go to these. the first site will tell everything you need to know about the 280zx. download the factory manual for free. you're going to need it!

I would just have the tank cleaned the best you can. If the car was indeed inside a garage all that time, the tank may not be in as bad shape as the PO said it was.

Bon

Reactions: Abuxs

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Check with local radiator shops to see about restoring and reusing your current tank. They should be able to tell you if it is salvageable. Sourcing a replacement may be difficult.

I'd replace the sending unit, etc. for peace of mind while it's all out.