ZCar Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently got a new project for the summer and am having trouble tracking down parts. I'm new to the Nissan community and am hoping that you guys might be able to point me in the right direction as far as sources for parts. If this is not the right place for this kind of post, please let me know.

I'm in search of a set of needle bearings and the corresponding bushing/sleeve for 5th gear on a FS5W71B transmission.

Any help would be much appreciated!

-Hank

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hi,
I saw your post. Thought this would be the person I need to contact about a trans issue I have in an 83 Z non turbo I am looking at buying. Here's a description of what's going on. There is a whining/wherring sound when driving down the road in all gears. If I go from accel to coast on the throttle and back again the noise comes and goes, which seems to me like the sound of a differential ring and pinion on the accel and coast side of the gear set. If I put the clutch in, the noise goes away, which indicates to me it's the input shaft bearing or gear set. Any help would be appreciated. The car has 131K miles and one owner car. Maybe he ran it low on trans oil. He wants $1000 for the car. Has a new paint job and had rust repair done. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
2,062 Posts
Hank44, I'm doing a search for the bearings and bushing. I should have an answer tomorrow. Damage to those 2 items is usually caused from: The stake nut on the main shaft loosening up or lugging the engine in 5th gear. Minimum RPM in 5th is 2500, better to run 3K or higher. .