ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
767 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm posting this as an FYI, I had a hard time finding all this information in one spot, so I figured I'd post it here so the next guy has a little easier of a time.

In my case, I am a resident of Florida and I was importing a 1981 280zx Turbo from Ontario.

First of all, there a 4 entities that you need to satisfy....the EPA, DOT, Customs and your local DMV. Listed below is how you deal with each.

Have this paperwork BEFORE you go! The options below are for your everyday guys, beware the other options on these forms require that you be, or have a contract with, a registered importer.

EPA:

With the EPA, you need to have EPA Form 3520-1 filled out for the border patrol. There are several routes you can go with this form.

Code B: Even if you have the sticker, you need to have a letter from Nissan granting importation.

Code E: This is the best way to go as long as the car is OVER 21 years old. As long as the date of manufacture is at least 21 years ago, the car is exempt.

The people at the EPA are extremely helpful and responsive. Their number is (734) 214-4100. www.epa.gov/otaq/imports

DOT:

These people are a little more difficult. Their number is (202) 366-5291. Good luck getting a call back.

With the DOT you need Form HS-7. www.dot.gov

If your car is older than 25 years, claim Code 1 and you're set.

In my case, I claimed code 2B since it is not 25 years old. This requires a letter from Nissan. See below.

Watch out for the other options, they sound good, but remember RI (Register Importer). You are most likely not one if you are reading this and they cost $$$$$$. Lots of it.

CUSTOMS:

When you cross the border, show the border patrol you letter from Nissan, DOT Form, and EPA Form. They will give you an "Entry Summary" Form 1515-0065. They are suppose to collect 2.5% of the sale price in duty.