ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
That's the question. How do you adjust the air/fuel mixture on a 78 280. Thanks for any help

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
What type of problem are you having first off. If it is running bad or acting up it could be a number of things. I have been working on my 78 for 4 months trying to get it tuned in to my satisfaction and am really close..

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
> What type of problem are you having first
> off. If it is running bad or acting up it
> could be a number of things. I have been
> working on my 78 for 4 months trying to get
> it tuned in to my satisfaction and am really
> close..

I had to adjust the AFM spring internally then fine tune with the screw on the side of the AFM. First check and clean all other sensors to make sure some aren't faulty then mess with mixture.

Sam 75 280z

·
Registered
406 Posts
> That's the question. How do you adjust the
> air/fuel mixture on a 78 280. Thanks for any
> help
If you want to richen your mixture you can insert a low ohm resistor (start with 10 ohm) inline with your water temp sensor. The ECU then thinks the engine is colder than it really is and richens your mixture. The higer the impedance the more rich the ECU will make the mixture.

Don

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Don is right about this part of it.. I started with 600 ohm and went down to a 165 ohm. Installed the K&N RU-0900 air filter and now running with no resistor and a few tweeks to the AFM adjustment screw.. Works for me..

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
> Don is right about this part of it.. I
> started with 600 ohm and went down to a 165
> ohm. Installed the K&N RU-0900 air filter
> and now running with no resistor and a few
> tweeks to the AFM adjustment screw.. Works
> for me..