ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to carburated cars and was just wondering how do I operate the choke? I know I must sound like an idiot but I am really clueless.

thanks a lot,

-josh

·
Premium Member
40,978 Posts
"Choke"

That's a relative term! ;-)
On the 70-72 cars, it's not really technically a choke, but a cold-start enrichment circuit. Why is it important to mention htis? Because a "choke" and "cold start enrichment circuit" or "starter circuit" in a carburettor function very differently!
A "Choke" will work if you have your foot on the gas, "starter circuits" will NOT!
The Z does not have acellerator pumps on the SU's, so the pumping of the gas to "set the choke" does absoutley nothing.
What you have to do is pull the lever on the console back to the rear, and crank the car with your foot off the gas. On early cars, pulling the lever cracks the throttle plates a bit, but more importantly moves the jet lower to allow more gas to be sucked in while starting. On the later cars, they actually use a "Choke Plate" at the front of the carbs to strangle the airflow through the carbs causing high vacuum in the carb body, sucking up more fuel.
Either way, you get much more fuel than you normally would, and that's what a cold engine needs to start easily on very cold mornings. After the car starts, you can ease the lever forward slightly, and keep easing it forward as it gets warmed up. If you have manifold water still connected, the time the "choke" needs to be on will be less, but either way, once started, ginger application of the throttle can get you moving and underway until fully warmed up.
I personally use the thing to get it started, and let it run on fast idle for a minute or so, and then get underway. Once going, I just push the lever full forwared, disabling the starter cirtcuit in the carb, as once you're going it's not needed.