ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I put my camshaft sprocket on wrong (skipped a tooth) when I bungled a head repair (gimme a break guys, it's my first attempt at a rebuild, still learning...). It idles a bit rough, almost wants to backfire when accelerating hard from idle, and it flunked a pre-smog test (machine said probable cause was timing is off).

How do I tell if my camshaft timing is off? I have a timing light and know how to set the distributor timing using the notch on the crankshaft pulley, but that won't tell me if my camshaft is off will it? All it'll tell me is that my distributor is sending spark at the right time based on the crankshaft, right?

And if I skipped a tooth when putting the chain on the cam sprocket, how do I determine which way I need to move the chain (i.e., move the sprocket one link to the left, or one link to the right...)?

Any advice would be appreciated.

-Rob

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I guess reading the earlier post about the shortcut you took it's comming back to bite as I thought it would (see reply if you want). You should take the front timing cover off and set the timing chain in properly like you should have done instead of trying a shortcut which wouldn't work anyway. Once you loose the tension on the timing chain it drops off the crankshaft gear and it would be way to lucky to get it put back on right by just pulling it back up. You got some work ahead of you. Bummer...
You just might be able to get around it with a adjustable cam gear but that would be in the hope it works area too and would just be more guesswork that would take lots of time and money.
It might be a good time to get a new timing chain and tensioner if you have a few miles on the car, you have to go through all the work anyway to get at it so replace it if it's getting on in years, take advantage of a bad situation.

·
Registered