ZCar Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I'm new to 240zs, so be gentle.
When I was replacing the Diff, I noticed the sway bar link had broken through the lower control arm attachment point. I first thought I could weld it up in place, but decided it would be easier to just get a used lower control arm and install it.
I'm stuck at the point of removing the lock "bolt" from the lower control arm which secures the travsverse link pivot bolt. As shown in Haynes page 180, it says to remove the "bolt". Both sides of my rear suspension have threaded studs from above and nuts from befow. I tried double nutting the stud, light taps with a hammer, heating with the torch, but have not tried vice grips yet. The "bolt" I am referring to is labelled #1 in diagram Fig. 11.29 as shown on the attached. Can you help me!
Scott in CA
Font Rectangle Monochrome Monochrome photography Parallel

·
Registered
4,579 Posts
serch this forum for "spindle pin" and you will find lots of posts about them. They can be extremely hard to get out

·
Super Moderator
8 / 71 240Z, HLS30-40031, L24-052899, Sunshine Yellow
190 Posts
That lock bolt is a round shaft with a tapered flat spot on one side. It mates with a flat spot on the transverse link and wedges the two together. The more you tighten the nut, the more it pulls the tapers tight. The best method I have found is to loosen the nut a couple turns. Then using a drift on the nut, or a second hammer as a drift and drive it strait up. That is not a great method and usually damages the lock bolt, which I couldn’t find at Rock Auto.
“English Racer” bicycles used to use a tapered pin like that on the pedal arms.
Hopefully someone has a better method.

·
Super Moderator
8 / 71 240Z, HLS30-40031, L24-052899, Sunshine Yellow
190 Posts