ZCar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there fellas, I’ve been lurking this forum for the last 8 months from the first time I saw a 280z for sale in a lot.

I’m trying to get my first z right now so i thought it would be a good idea to make an account and get some advice on a listing later. I’m a college student and i’m really excited to get started on my first car

nice to meet you all :)

·
Registered
2,329 Posts
Welcome.

You better get on it now because these cars' prices are skyrocketing. its ludicrous. not like it was 20 years ago when I bought my first one that's for sure....

check out this link for reference on the Z car:
www.xenonzcar.com

Bon

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Not sure if this is the best place to post but, this is the one i’m looking at. https://classics.autotrader.com/classic-cars/1978/datsun/280z/101522206
It’s local and not too high priced, from what i can tell there is no rust to be found even under floor pans and battery tray. I’m supposed to be viewing it in person sometime soon.

I talked to the owner over the phone to explain the “Minor work” these include: exhaust headers gasket leak, headlight wiring is fidgety, the original driver door panel missing, and some other small things that i don’t remember at the moment. The mileage is a typo should be 135k and the paint is not original black pearl, was metallic blue. The car has only been in california and florida.

One last thing, I contacted the dmv about the VIN history. They said it has a clear title however when it was transferred to florida it was noted as “salvage title” in 2011 while now having a clear title. Would salvage be a no go or is this still a good car.

(If i should post this somewhere else lmk o_o)

·
Registered
2,329 Posts