ZCar Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so, this is my first project car and first car that is older (83 datsun 280zx NA) I'm having a weird problem. The car starts and runs fine cold. Can drive it for hours with no problems. Can turn it off after its warm and then instantly turn it back on and it runs no problem. BUT if I turn it off and then come back out after 5-10 minute wait and try to turn it on then the car starts stuttering until the fuel light comes on and then it dies. If I wait long enough for it to cool down then it's turns over and runs perfectly with no problems. I'm not really to sure where to start looking. I read somewhere something about vapor lock which doesn't make sense to me cause it runs just fine without issues. Thought?

·
Registered
2,784 Posts
download the Factory service manual for the 83 from xenonzcar.com in the S130 section. Start troubleshooting there.
It's probably not vapor lock.... that is not a common issue that I see on these cars personally and none of mine have the injector rail fan. does yours still have the fan installed? it is supposed to cool the fuel line. it could be something else though, may or may not be fuel related. have you replaced any tune up components? fuel filter, spark plugs, etc.
does the fuel pump kick on and run for 5 seconds when you first start up? (before ignition)
CHTS (cylinder head temperature sensor) is also something you should check. failing, these can cause weird issues on the 280zx. it is located on the head, right side of the engine.
lastly, your ignition control box may be getting hot (overheating) and causing a no-start condition. I would start by going through the fuel and engine control section of the FSM.

Bon

·
Registered
368 Posts