·
Registered
685 Posts
another 4 piston ?

> I was wondering if one could put the four
> piston toyota calipers on a 79 zx.

> Thank you.
While we are on the subject I was wondering
how good of an upgrade is this anyways?I've read many things concerning the installation of these
calipers,But notheng on the real world results
of doing this.Less fade?Better heat dissapation?
Quicker 60-0?Being A mechanic the job is easy
but are the results worth my 2 hours labor?

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: another 4 piston ?

I did the 4 piston conversion at the same time I did stainless steel lines, cross drilled my own rotors and converted the rear drums to discs (cross drilled also)... In my opinion, you cannot do a more noticeable upgrade to a zcar than to its brakes. I dished out just at $600.00 total to do all 4 corners and man what a difference. I am no mechanic, but it took me maybe an hour per wheel... only complaint is the pulsating noise the cross drilled rotors make under heavy braking. But you get used to it. I tap my brake pedal and the car STOPS. I used a proportioning valve to get the rear biasing right, now it is difficult to lock the brakes up, but the car stops like its a porsche 911.

You need more info, let me know -- I still have a list of parts and suppliers.

D.R.

> While we are on the subject I was wondering
> how good of an upgrade is this anyways?I've
> read many things concerning the installation
> of these
> calipers,But notheng on the real world
> results
> of doing this.Less fade?Better heat
> dissapation?
> Quicker 60-0?Being A mechanic the job is
> easy
> but are the results worth my 2 hours labor?

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·