ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Flattops are in and the block is bored 50 over. Haven't put the head on yet, waiting for the weekend. Interesting enough, the pistons stick out above the block just a wee bit. Add the gasket to the deck and I think it's not a problem. But I just wanted to know if it's normal for them to stick out like that?

Now that it's bored 50over and with flattops on an N47 head, what's the best way to find out displacement and compression? Hopefully somebody has already done this or has a formula I can use to calculate it myself.

·
Registered
482 Posts
I'm not an expert, but here's some info.

> The Flattops are in and the block is bored
> 50 over. Haven't put the head on yet,
> waiting for the weekend. Interesting enough,
> the pistons stick out above the block just a
> wee bit. Add the gasket to the deck and I
> think it's not a problem. But I just wanted
> to know if it's normal for them to stick out
> like that?

Should be 0. All 6 cyl L series blocks have the same block height (oil pan gasket surface-head gasket surface should = 10.467) This can be difficult for you to measure without proper tools. The best thing to do would be to measure how much this 'wee bit' is. If it's something like .005 or so, then I wouldn't worry. An uncrushed stock head gasket is 1.25mm, and when it is crushed, usually ends up being 1.15mm or -.005. If they are sticking up just a 'wee bit', did the machine shop deck the block just a 'wee bit'?? Some shops will machine up to .005 off to do a clean up cut.

> Now that it's bored 50over and with flattops
> on an N47 head, what's the best way to find
> out displacement and compression? Hopefully
> somebody has already done this or has a
> formula I can use to calculate it myself.

Down to the formulas;
To find the total displacement of your engine:
Formula: pi/4 x piston (cm) x crank (cm) x no. of cyl.
79mm Crank