ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm having trouble with exaust fumes leaking into my cabin. There are no leaks in the exaust sytem, the fire wall is tight (after much checking) and the fumes seem to be coming from the rear. Anybody have this problem before? What can I do?

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
> check your rear tail light seals I was told
> by my brother when his seals were bad he had
> this problem
definately check all seals,weather stripping, and look for any holes in the rear cargo area. I'm no expert on aerodynamics,but as you move throgh the air(driving) you create a pocket of swirling air on the tail end of the car so the fumes linger around there a bit before they move on, some brain surgeons up here had their kids in the back of their truck in a conopy and after a long drive the kids had died from carbon monoxide poisoning, the parents thought the kids had fallen sleep (in fact they had, carbon monoxide will make you drowsy at first) sad but true story.

·
Registered
399 Posts
> I'm having trouble with exaust fumes leaking
> into my cabin. There are no leaks in the
> exaust sytem, the fire wall is tight (after
> much checking) and the fumes seem to be
> coming from the rear. Anybody have this
> problem before? What can I do?
I find that when I drive with the under dash vent open, it changes the pressure in the car and I don't get exhaust fumes. I drive withe vent open all the time. However, I live in Florida, so this is no problem

·
Registered
439 Posts
you most likely have bad rubber gaskets either around your hatch or the rear tail lights, this is a common problem as the rubber deteriates in older Z-cars, there are several companies that sell after market rubber gaskets for Z's, one note using silcon to build up the gaskets will probably not work and just leave you with a big ugly mess. If you need a source for the gaskets let me know

·
Registered
107,695 Posts