ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,I have been reading you'r guys posts for a while and have a question,I am new to the wholeZ car thing and am new to being a mechanic so please bear with me.I'm 17 and have a 1984 Turbo with 196,000 miles on it.I got it this year,The body is in really good shape,when I bought it [$1700]it needed a new clutch and ball joints and a few other things,Luckly for me my uncle who is a master mechanic[He's been tinkering cars all his life,he had a hot rodded chevele back in the day]and has a lift helped me fix all that for the cost of the parts,I have also replaced the master and slave cylinders for the clutch with thehelp of my dad.

Anyway I'm am thinking of having the engine rebuilt this winter if I can get a winter job.I want to increase the power and speed of my car and the easiest and cheapest way it seems is to modify the current engine I looked at this guide http://z31.com/faq/turbo.faq.shtml
and It seems I'll need a new ECU,and Fuel injectors maybe a few other small things. Is there a kit out there that has all I'll need or will I have to buy ithem all seperat?Becouse It says you can use the injectors off a supra that you can probly find at a junkyard but when I looked at supra injectors there were a lot of them,so If I have to buy all the parts seperate would you guys help me figure out what I need?I was thinking of sending In my old ECU into jim wolf to be reprogramed or would I have to buy a new one?I plan on using the stock turbo at [14 psi of boost,It's set at ten now] for now as I can't afford a bigger one yet.You'r help is apreciated,how much do you think it will cost to supe the engine up?[excluding the cost of the engine rebuild?]I don't want to build a drag racer I just want a car that can run with mustangs and camaroes.Oh when I have the engine rebuilt what compretion ratio should I have it bult to?8:1 or 9:1?

·
Registered
958 Posts