ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to make my own wig-wag(used on police cars to alternate left and right high beams) and i know i can do it with 1-a turn signal or hazard flasher, and 2-a relay for each high beam. now i can picture wiring diagram in my head, but need to know what model flasher to get and what the terminals on each the flasher and relays go to. anyone got any diagrams? (i am a volunteer firefighter, so this is'nt illegal on my car) i know on some cars, the flasher alternates the front and side signals when the flasher is on, just not which cars.

·
Registered
571 Posts
I'm also thinking a DPDT relay to be outputted from the high and low voltage pulse from the flasher.
The DPDT would tick back and forth making the left to right motion.
This can be done also from scratch with a couple parts from radio shack.
I’ll make something up from scratch.
I would also like to congratulate you on this under our nose idea.
As for a schematic, maybe next week. I am soooooo overworked.
But trust me I will put it on paper for everyone.
E-mail me and make sure I’m not goofing around next week.
You could take one of those goofy little back and forth LED flasher thingies and use 2 micro relays or transistors to drive 2 higher amperage relay.
Maybe someone can beat me to the jump.

Nice idea
I kinda will feel guilty stealing it.

Madeline Michele
Hollywood, Fl

·
Registered
4,558 Posts
I have done this before and you will be better off to buy a specific unit for this.
Granted you can make one for around $5.00 and the real unit is around $25 or $30.
My homemade unit frequently overheated and began to flash irregularly. If you need help finding a real unit email me.

·
Registered
830 Posts
I vote with 280Z