ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm new to the whole z car thing. I'm not quite sure of the differances between like a 76 280Z and a 280ZX. Also, mine is a 2+2 with an automatic (discusting I know but is was cheap) and a friend thinks that all of the 2+2s came with autos, is this true? Because I would like to get rid of the auto as soon as possible. Oh, does a 280 coupe 5spd fit in a 2+2?
thanks,
ben

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
The X stands for Xtra metal. Basically, lots of little (heavy) luxury stuff... a/c, power windows, stuff like that.

As for the rest - ask them, they know. &-)

S

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello,

I personaly like the ZX over the older Z cars, I like the extra room, and I really REALLY like the 4 wheel disc brakes. My current ZX does not have T-tops, most of the ZX's offer them, and they are also VERY NICE. I have a 1982 280ZX 2+2 and it has a 5 speed, far as I know the 2+2's are available either way. The older modles far as I know also are available in either. It really depends on what you are looking for, the older Z cars are strait up sports cars, no luxury items to speak of, the ZX is a larger, more roomy car, but in cost is a heavier car, signifigantly so, but my personal opinion is the body is a little more stout, and also handles much better, wider wheelbase, I could not tell you for fact the weight is distributed better or not, but it seems like it is. I like all the Z cars for the most part, the 300ZX series is probably my least favorite, as I am not a fan of the V6 Engine Nissan Built. I just prefer the strait 6 engines in the Zx and the earlier Z cars.

Hope this Helps.
Scott Milella

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
<b>RE: 5 speed in 2+2</b>