Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
 Hi
 I have no knowledge of Turbos and need some advice on the state of turbo in my 82’ZXT.
 My boost gauge registers no boost, never goes past 0.
 Car idles nicely, but will backfire under hard acceleration, has power but lacks quickness.
 So I think maybe the Turbo has frozen up. Am I right?
 Also , is it true that the by-pass valve can be moved back and forth freely with just the touch of the hand?
Mine (by-pass valve) doesn’t move it all. Is it stuck? Would it be ok to may be jarr it loose by tapping on it ? Or would I ruin it by doing that? Or is the Turbo already shot?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated..
tom

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hi

The stock gauge is highly inaccurate, I would try hooking up a aftermarket gauge to see how much boost you really are getting. I know on my Z the factory gauge was going right to the red line but when I hooked up another boost gauge I was only getting around 4 lbs of boost.

My turbo seems to have the same problem yours does. My wastegate lever (on the turbo) seemed to be frozen also. Every other Z I have messed with I have been able to move the lever by hand, on my 83 I cannot.

If the lever is not moving at all, and frozen in a open position, (like bent back towards the firewall) it is probably partially open and that is why you are producing little or no boost. I took a open end wrench, not sure the exact size but I can look if you'd like, that fit square on the end of the lever (disconnect the wastegate arm) and soaked it down with some liquid wrench, and broke it loose that way. Work it back and forth a few times and see if you can loosen it up that way.

Pay attention to the position of the lever before you start, if you are able to move it to the left (Towards the wastegate) then it was indeed partially open and you were losing boost that way.