ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I noticed a ridiculous lack in power... pulled off the air cleaner... put my hand over the front carb and the car about died, put my hand over the rear carb... nothing. If I hold my hand over the rear carb and work the throttle, I can feel it pulling a little bit but nowhere near like it should be... I'm new to this whole dual carb thing... any ideas what's going on here? Oh, yeah... as it is not sucking in, the fuel is just kinda sitting there in the carb. I don't know what difference that makes, but I guess the more info the better.

Thanks!
Shayne
74 260Zeeeeeeeeee

·
Registered
2,317 Posts
might want to check your bowl to see if that foat is letting fuel in... and the check to see if the piston in the dome moves freely.

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ok, I just went out to tinker with it a little more. If I work the linkage so that just the rear carb (the one I'm having problems with) is being used, it revs up slowly and stops revving when it gets up a little bit. I don't know what rpm it stops at as I cant see the tach from the engine compartment, but I'd have to guess it stops at about 3000 or 3500. If I work the linkage for just the front carb, it revvs normally... I'm frekin confused.

Shayne

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
the piston moves normally. I haven't checked the float yet, but even if no fuel was getting in there, it should still suck, right?

Shayne

·
Registered
150 Posts
check to see if you have compression on all of your cylinders that are fed by the back carb, (4,5,and 6) Mine had these exact symptoms, and it was a bent valve. if you have compression, then it's probably the carb float problem.
andrew
73 240z
82 zx

·
Registered
717 Posts