ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Turbo transplant was a success. All the stock parts out of a '83 280ZXT went into my '77. And after listening to the 3 Mustang junkies the live around me "Datsuns were never quick", "Why don't you get a real car", "He,he, wana race for pink slips..." That all ended today.... First time I cranked the motor, BBWWWAAAAAA, then the most distinctive high pitch scream only a turbo can make filled the air. I didn't even have all the wires tied down, I HAD to take it for a quick test drive. OH MY GOD!!!! I mean I have been in MANY quick cars, but none that made my heart slam into the back of my through like that. Now I don't what you to get the impression I am new to HP, I had a 350Z (it had a easy 300+hp) It NEVER connected and when it did it zipped up to speed with ease, then I did 40 DCOE Webbers, cam and headers, VERY nice setup, fun quick response and very controllable. But this, the HOLY GRAIL OF POWER.....<back to the story hehe too excited :) > I take it down the back roads of my subdivision (Its safe, open undeveloped fields) and let her run lose, mind you I had only a 3 foot tail pipe so she did scream. On my way back the 3 fellow who had been hassling me were standing looking at my hoodless car in disbelief. "So you finally got the motor in hu" some other cheap pot shots at the naked Z motor, and I got cocky. I offered to take one of them for a ride, reluctantly one got in, (he has a Trick 98 Mustang). I continued to PIN HIS HEAD TO THE SEAT to 100mph. Wow I even impressed myself on that run, I don't think I could do it again, It was by pure luck and adrenaline I made those 225's connect and launch me like bottle rocket. When we got back he had a grin ear to ear, "****" that is all he said to me, then turned to his the other and said "I wouldn't race him." I am not a 1/4 mile guy, but I left that experience feeling like a million bucks