Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
My brake drums are pretty shot on my 73 Z and I was wondering how big of ajob is it to replace the drums and shoes and is it worth it or should I replace my front calipers with the 4 barrel upgrade?
What gives me more stoping power my drums or the disk?
Which is cheaper?
Anything special I need to know about these drum to work on them??

Dustin Morris

·
Registered
290 Posts
I replaced my rear drums with new aluminum drums from NAPA (Made in Italy). Watch out --- a ridge in the outer groove that fits over the backplate needed to be ground down to mate properly.
I'm in the process of upgrading to the Toyota 4 piston caliper in front. This should be fine for daily bonzaii runs, but for autocross or more, you will likely want disk in back. I'm not an expert though.

> Hello,
> My brake drums are pretty shot on my 73 Z
> and I was wondering how big of ajob is it to
> replace the drums and shoes and is it worth
> it or should I replace my front calipers
> with the 4 barrel upgrade?
> What gives me more stoping power my drums or
> the disk?
> Which is cheaper?
> Anything special I need to know about these
> drum to work on them??

> Dustin Morris

·
Registered
482 Posts
Brake info

> Hello,
> My brake drums are pretty shot on my 73 Z
> and I was wondering how big of ajob is it to
> replace the drums and shoes and is it worth
> it or should I replace my front calipers
> with the 4 barrel upgrade?