ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My mechanic just told me that if I use headers on my 76 it will never pass smog (I live in LA) and I will have to have them removed in order to pass. Is this B..S.. or not? I got the monza exhaust from NOPI it is like the one in the VBritish catalog and has all the smog fittings

Craog76Z

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
RE: Question for those with headers.

My understanding is that a header will improve the efficiency of your engine thus producing LESS smog. So it doesn't make sense to me that it would fail a smog test based only on the fact that it has a header.

ross

·
Registered
87 Posts
RE: Question for those with headers.

I would ask a friendly person at an inspection site about it. I am no expert, but I assume your car has an EGR valve, thus if you drill the fitting out in the header and re-hook up the EGR, it might pass smog, not visually, but from an emission stand point it should. The more important thing is to retain the catalytic converter if your car had one, which I think CA Zs did, but I'm not sure. Good luck.

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
<b>California Doesn't see it that way....</b>

Craig,

Even tho having a header on the car would benefit the world with less smog.... the California state just doesn't see it that way.... or every car would have a header on it. It would be a state mandate... ever notice that California cars have always had more smog equipent on them since 1974... then in other states? I can speak for the state... but I understand their position.