ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this has been covered in the not to distant past, but I'm a newcomer so bear with me. I have an '82 ZXT that I love in every aspect except the rear suspension. Some owner at some point has done SOMEthing to tighten up the hiney of this car so that the axles might as well be welded to the unibody. Plus it rides about an inch or more higher than other ZXs. I've been driving it around for a couple of years this way, figuring since it doesn't squat on acceleration like most ZXs, I'm probably coming out ahead.

I've been eyeing aftermarket spring/shock combos and like what the Eibach progressives do to the look and (apparently) the drivability of other types of cars. Anyone have any experience with them on ZXs? Any experience with any other aftermarket springs? Suspension techniques, etc.? Should I just stick a set of (new) stock springs on and shut up? As long as we're on the subject, any opinions about aftermarket sway bars vs. stock. I'd really like this car to handle better.
Thanks, John

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
I'm not a real big fan of lowering springs for street driven cars as I've posted before and I'd recomend the Euro springs (stage1 1) offered by Nissan Motorsport coupled with their Koni shocks. Koni's are my personal favorite but others may like different brands, there are others that are good but Koni's are the best I've used so far.
Larger Sway bars are a must for good handling, they are worth every penny.