ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,610 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've seen a lot of postings for aftermarket electronic ignitions but it generally has me a bit confused.
I am upgrading my existing motor peripherals in preparation for a new, SLIGHTLY modified L28. It will not have a wild cam or be boosted in any way. Standard stuff, flat tops with an N42 head, an improved cam, and good breathing in and out. An MSD has been recommended but I'm not familiar enough with it to feel confident at this time. I don't need a $1,200 fully programable unit as my engine won't benefit from it.
Recommendations?
Thanks,
Phantom

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Bill, I'm by no means an expert on it, but planning to do the same thing(more or less), i'd say keep your dist. and just add a hotter coil and good wires(if not allready purchased). Now yoy can get a tweeked out dist. with performance curve, but they, generally don't have emission stuff in them, making passing strict tests hard. BTW, just got Racetep catalogue, they sell Tweeked out ZX dist. for 180$.

Stan.

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
> I've seen a lot of postings for aftermarket
> electronic ignitions but it generally has me
> a bit confused.
> I am upgrading my existing motor peripherals
> in preparation for a new, SLIGHTLY modified
> L28. It will not have a wild cam or be
> boosted in any way. Standard stuff, flat
> tops with an N42 head, an improved cam, and
> good breathing in and out. An MSD has been
> recommended but I'm not familiar enough with
> it to feel confident at this time. I don't
> need a $1,200 fully programable unit as my
> engine won't benefit from it.
> Recommendations?
> Thanks,
> Phantom