ZCar Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got an 87 z31 na. And right now, in order to get my car to operate normal for a short period of time I have to unplug the fuse to my fuel pump and plug it back in after about 4 seconds. I have replaced the pump, fuel filter, plugs, cables, and got a FPR from the local pull a part. I also replaced the o2 sensor
When I go to accelerate my engine bogs and stumbles very bad, then I take the fuse out and plug it back in, and things run smooth for a short period of time. I have ran the diagnostic codes and I get the fuel pump circuit code, but I thinks that is vague since it could be anything with the fuel system aside from the injectors.
I am brand new to working on cars so I dont know much. But I am willing to learn if anyone can give me some insight on what this might be.

·
Registered
174 Posts
I am assuming you already have the Factory Service Manual for your Z31. If not, go get it here.
Have you ran through the FSM's Fuel Pump code 22 inspection chart? See FSM section EFEC.
You will want to do this when the car is misbehaving.

Other than that, I would check that ECU is well grounded. Make sure ECU is bolted firmly to the car body, and that there are some body grounds in good shape. Take a close look at the ground strap from the battery ground to the car body.

Questions for curiosity sake:
  • How long after you pull the fuse does the car behave correctly?
  • Will the car continue to run/idle once the problem starts?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am assuming you already have the Factory Service Manual for your Z31. If not, go get it hear.
Have you ran through the FSM's Fuel Pump code 22 inspection chart? See FSM section EFEC.

Other than that, I would check that ECU is well grounded. Make sure ECU is bolted firmly to the car body, and that there are some body grounds in good shape. Take a close look at the ground strap from the battery ground to the car body.