ZCar Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the z world and I'm excited to get this thing on the road but i have ran into a few problems. I bought a cheap set of 280zx cars. One is a 79 the other is the 82 i have questions about. I am trying to use the 2 to make one. So far I have cleaned the tank and red koted it, cleaned the fuel lines, replaced the fuel pump, relpaced all the fuel injectors because they were stuck closed. Fixed a few wiring issues and finally got it to start. The car did sit for a few years so i expected it to be a pain to get started but now the only way it will start is to hold the throttle wide open, but it doesnt act like it is full open, seems to be more of a high idle then after about a minute it dies. Hoping someone else has had the same problem and can help

·
Super Moderator
1983 280ZX Turbo
945 Posts
Yes, sounds like some basic work with a multimeter checking functions of the ECU is in order.

·
Registered
2,020 Posts
Which one are you trying to start, the 79 or the 82 turbo? I think you mean the turbo. The turbo has a relatively advanced fuel injection system for the time and is a fair bit different than the 79. It's got a crank angle sensor in the distributor and the timing is all done electronically. Probably for you though, something is up with the throttle position sensor. Make sure all your contacts are good and clean. Get a copy of the factory service manual. Should be floating around on the web somewhere. Don't throw away your old injectors, they can probably be freed up with an ultrasonic cleaning.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6