ZCar Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My first good car (after several fun, but hopelessly unreliable British sports cars) was a '71 240Z. That car rusted into oblivion within a few years. But it did get me a few dates!
I now have the opportunity to acquire (free) a '77 280Z that has been parked outside for about 10 years. There are some dings in the sheet metal, but not too much rust. Also one of the removable roof panels is broken. The owner ( a relative) claims that it was running when he took it off the road (insurance purposes), but that was 10 years ago.
I'm a retired Engineer, have lots of tools and mechanical knowledge, and a good garage to work in, but not sure I want to take this project on.
Any advice on:
- what work will the engine and turbocharger need?
- how available are parts?
- should I remove all mechanical parts before restoring the body?
- any text books/web links on the subject?

Or should I finish restoring my '84 Honda Magna motorcycle first?

·
Registered
3,785 Posts
Civil, mechanical, electrical? There are many types of engineers.

77 didn't come with turbos or removable roof panels. So the car's been modified.

Most parts are still available. It's not too difficult to get an old car back in good running condition. Complete restoration is a little more difficult and can be expensive.

Search "Humble Datsun" and "Monroe Datsun" and "Honsowetz Datsun" and you'll find a few good books. Rockauto, motor sport auto, black dragon, and zspecialties are good for parts.

Don't look at it as an investment, especially a 77. Nobody makes their money back.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The car is actually an '81 280ZX. The owner swears that the turbo and roof are factory options. I'm a mechanical engineer
I can get the car for free, but it will cost $1500 to have it shipped. .
Does this change the feasabilty of the project?

·
Registered
5,418 Posts