ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I put 72 sus on my 73 and stripped off all the smog since its exempt. Can I get rid of the air pump? Is there a replacement adjusting pulley?also the anti backfire value keeps sucking air cause its not hooked to anything, can it go by the wayside?

Rico

· Registered
1,351 Posts
Well, I am not a mechanic, but I have exactly the same setup. I have a 73 with SU carbs off of a 72. I took a look at a Factory Service Manual and took a look at what all of the emissions systems do. Basically, I could see no harm (power loss) in any of them left over after the conversion. The EGR system definitely causes a power loss. However, the vacuum line that drives this system is fed from a nipple that was a part of the old Hitachi rear carb. When you remove the carb, unless you drive it from somewhere else, this system becomes non-functional. The air pump definitely robs power as well, so you could remove the pulley and plug up the hoses. However, I looked at everything else, and the systems really do not matter. The A/B valve simply helpd smooth things out after you take your foot off the gas by pumping air into the intake, thus slowing the deceleration. No effect on performance. There are a couple of other systems there that justy keep it running better. In my case I have l;eft everything on except the EGR, which is still disconnected. I would suggest that you hook our A/B valve upto something. I think there is supposed to be a tee in the vacuum curcuit that goes to the throttle control valve (another emissions device), but I can't remember. Good luck.

· Registered
888 Posts
Hey you should try this,its just a theory so no laughing,take the smog pump hose