ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to 240Z's and have a 1972 with a fake wood steering wheel, which I am told is the original wheel.
I want to make it look like new and can easily redo the black spokes but am not sure how to continue with the "wood" rim as I do not want to damage the steering wheel.
I think the wheel is GREAT and therefore don't want to put on a replacement.
Any suggestions or repair/restoration solutions will be most appreciated.
Best regards,
David.

·
Registered
949 Posts
David, I just restored an old '72 wheel and sold it on e-bay for over a hundred bucks. It is so easy- disassemble the wheel then strip the old black paint off... careful that you don't get any of the paint remover on the "wood".
Sand the spokes with a little 360 or 400 grit....
Then start on the wood. What I did was wet sanded it with 600 grit, then 1000 grit, then 1500 grit.
Then spray on some polyurethane..... and let it sit for about a week. The harder it gets, the better. Maybe you don't have to let it sit that long, but that's what I did.
Then I wet sanded again with 1000 grit.... 1500 grit.... then coated it again with the poly.
After the rim dried I coated the spokes with some good old Rustoleum satin black....
let it cure then I wet sanded the rim again.. it looks dull, but then I took some McGuires #7 polish to the rim.... it shined up like you would not beleive. I spen a couple of weeks on it, and I think it turned out real good. I honestly think the rim looked better than new.
KS

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for your help - it sounds fairly easy!

Two questions:

1) Do I need a special tool/puller to get the steering wheel off?
2) Should the black paint be "flat" or "glossy".

Thanks again,
David.

·
Registered
1,298 Posts
Hehe, ok here goes.

1) No.

2) Neither.

Ok, here are better answers.