ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i wanna have my VG30ET bored to a VG33ET i also need help finding piston as i am new to this...any good help is appreciated!!!! ive been to nissan parts.cc and victoria british....es3....domdogg123....(V)erciless.....88hybrid anybody around? im told i need to get piston but either im lookin in the wrong place or cant find them...or im simply lookin over them....if i get it bored to the 3.3 specs what pistons should i use? if i dont decide to go with the 3.3 bored...where can i find pistons(im told there are about 3 sizes) for just the VG30ET block? oh yeah what would you guys pay for a transmission 5 speed from an 84 turbo and/or for a ECU/o2 sensor

1981 nissan 300zx 260000 miles and still going!!!!!!!!!!!

1986 nissan 300zx turbo swap in progress!!!!!

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
Re: 3.0 to 3.3 and Pistons (es3....(V)erciless....domdogg123....

First off, do NOT get the 5-speed from a pre-'87 Turbo, it's absolute crap (see Borg-Warner T-5) If you do go with the 3.3 L find the size of the pistons from the VG33 (found in Pathfinders, pickups and some minivans), and get them custom made from http://www.importperformanceparts.net

·
Registered
185 Posts

You cannot bore a VG30 to 3.3. You can get a 3.3L Motor from a pathfinder but its not worth it IMO.

As far as pistons go how much power do you want to make? What Compression Ratio would you like to Run? Aftermarket or Nissan OEM? If your going for aftermarket pistons also you mind as well get some aftermarket connecting rods or at least get the stock rods shot peened. For pistons BRC or Diamond are some good companys that will make you pistons to any spec you want. Or you can get pistons/Rods off a VG30DETT The compression will be slightly lower in the VG30 due to different combustion chambers/heads but they will still work.

Link for pistons:
http://www.diamondracing.net/