ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was thinking about converting an automatic 280z to a manual. I don't care if its a four or five speed but I prefer manual. How hard is it and is it worth it? Any help would be great. Thanks

·
Registered
107,695 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
> I was thinking about converting an automatic
> 280z to a manual. I don't care if its a four
> or five speed but I prefer manual. How hard
> is it and is it worth it? Any help would be
> great. Thanks

Easy as pie. Just bolt it up and add pedal, etc. I switched from 4 speed to 5, but I can't believe going from auto to manual is much harder. The only thing different is adding the clutch pedal. I'm no super mechanic and I had no trouble. Good luck.

·
Registered
270 Posts
I did it on mine in a day. I am pretty sure the clutch pedal mount was added at the factory even in the automatics so you just find a pedal and put it in, I have a 75' 280Z and it was there on mine. Also on mine the holes were already there but there was a plate glued to the firewall which I removed to mount the clutch. One thing to remember is to ensure you measure your driveline to be sure it fits. I think the worst thing about the switch on mine was the mess I made with the tranny fluid when we removed the automatic hoses from the cooler. I agree with you totally that a manual Z is much more fun... Good Luck
Tony

> Easy as pie. Just bolt it up and add pedal,
> etc. I switched from 4 speed to 5, but I
> can't believe going from auto to manual is
> much harder. The only thing different is
> adding the clutch pedal. I'm no super
> mechanic and I had no trouble. Good luck.

·
Registered
20 Posts
> great. Thanks