ZCar Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's the deal... On my '72 (I just got it a couple of months ago), it's a real pain to start on cold mornings and takes a while on warm days. I've noticed though that I don't hear the usual sound from the rear of the car when the ignition is on. On my '73, the electric fuel pump is very obvious due to it's sound. The same was true on my '82. Yet, as I mentioned no fuel pump sound. Here's where I'm going with this.. I'm thinking that my starting trouble on my '72 is an electric fuel pump problem. Here's some more info. When the ignition is on, there is no movement of fuel in the line (seems obvious, I know).

Main question: How hard is it to change the electric fuel pump? Is this something I can do in the driveway with jack stands? Any caveats to lookout for?

Thanks,
Ross

· Registered
1,351 Posts
Hey, i am not an expert but I believe that 72s did not have an electric fuel pump. 73s did. I have an unrelated question. I have a 73 and since I boiught it I have regretted somewhat not getting a 72. Can you tell me what the engine differences are? I am curious to what degree emissions weakened the 72 engine. Does the 72 have an air pump? (Air Injection). Does it have an EGR? I know about the carbs... mine has 72s retrofitted. And I understand there are differences in the head, that the compression is a bit lower. ANything you know would be helpful..

· Registered
174 Posts