ZCar Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought 2 280zx's. a 1981 and a 1980. i previously owned the 81 but had to sell it because i was tight for cash. the dude who i sold it to totally trashed it, can only salvage the hood 1 t-top and 2 of the fenders and the motor... the other car however is pretty decent between the two i should be able to restore one. I'm not to sure where to start being i'm new to the restoring thing. I was wondering whether i should start with the mechanical portion or start with the body and interior. Any suggestions would help me a lot. second they are both L28 n/a's i was wanting to convert the motor to a turbo motor. i was wondering if you guys could tell me what all i would need to do so. i know i need the exhaust and intake manifold. the turbo is a given :). i was wondering what else i would need. i'll greatly appreciate all the help i get.

·
Registered
54 Posts
from my previous inquiries, it is MUCH less work to just get a turbo motor and drop it in. some different things that you'll need: EFI harnesses, turbo AFM, ECU (i think)... you'll also have to get a turbo oil pan, or tap the one you have so you can have an oil return line from your turbo. The turbo engine's block is a bit huskier as well-- from what i've read, that's why they use it in the stroker 3.1L bore-outs. N/A motor would work, but the best bet would be to get a wrecked turbo car... one of the junk yards near me would sell me one in wrecked condition for $750. he wanted $350 + my GOOD engine for just the engine/turbo. good luck and keep me posted...

·
Registered
2,096 Posts
it would be better to use a full turbo motor, less work definately, and from what I hear you wouldnt want to use a NA block from those years because of the flat top pistons, i think turbos need dished pistons to reduce compression. High compression in a turbo motor will kill it I think.

·
Registered
1,298 Posts