Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am sorry to bother you guys, I am just learning to work on my car myself, and being a girl, I dont have the strength you men have, so.... I DO have someone helping me..... a friend who has worked on cars for years has been assisting me but he is baffled also.....mind you

( It took a lot ....as he keeps reminding me how #!!?# difficult these cars are to work on....HaaHaa)

Anyway, my car is :

NISSAN 300ZX 2+2 TURBO 1984

I removed everything and when we got to the crankshaft pulley and by accident we rotated the cranshaft about a 1/4 rotation with the pulley still ON......this is when we removed the starter and placed a screw driver into the flywheel to make sure it would be held tight, and the crankshaft unable to budge so we could remove the crankshaft bolt.....we then removed everything and then installed the new water pump and put all the rest of the millions ( HaaHaa) of pieces back on the car.

went to turn it on and ......it rotates but will NOT start !!!

We checked the wires from the distributor and there IS spark.......I even stuck a wire in where the spark plug is in #1 cylinder and rotated the cracnkshaft pulley till the cylender was at the top.....and still nothing.
before this we set the crankshaft pulley to 0 degrees and attempted to start it......still just rotating but no start

Under the distributer car the rotor is facing to #1 also...........now could the timing be off if by accident the crankshaft pulley was rotated 1/4 turn when the pulley was still ON?

If so does anyone know in detail how to time the engine ???

I just dont get this???? Inless I am not doing this right ????
COULD IT BE THE STARTER INCORRECTLY INSTALLED ????....but it wouldnt turn over then, right???

I can only think it is the timing ?????????........and we are doing something wrong ??

THE CAR RAN MOMENTS PRIOR TO INSTALLING THE WATER PUMP !!!