ZCar Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently bought a 1983 Datsun 280zx as a project car it needed a lot of help and right now I’m just focused on getting it to start.
I have replaced the fuel pump, fuel filter, ignition coil, and starter and I went to crank it over and it started for a few seconds then died. I tried to start it again and it wouldn’t so I waited a minute tried it again and it started for a few seconds and died again.
I have read quite a few forums and I haven’t quite heard of one doing what mine is doing. If anyone could help that would be great I’m new to the Z cars and don’t know a whole lot.

·
Registered
320 Posts
I wonder what the top side (from the filter outlet to the injectors) of the fuel system looks like.

When I was messing with mine, if I disconnected the hose from outlet of the filter, I had a lot of sediment/rust(?) come down from the fuel rail. May have been deteriorating fuel line too, not sure.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
56 Posts
did you drain old fuel and coat the tank prior to trying to start the car... these z gas tanks like to rust and when they do they clog the tiny screen in the fuel pump as well as the fuel filter I recommend you check fuel pressure before digging into anything to rigorous get a fuel pressure gauge and put it in between your fuel rail and fuel filter and see how much pressure your getting (should be around 36psi).

·
Registered
368 Posts
Get a fuel pressure gauge and check the fuel pressure. You will have to install it between the filter and the fuel rail. You can get the fittings at Lowes and some extra FUEL INJECTION fuel hose. Yes there is a difference.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I wonder what the top side (from the filter outlet to the injectors) of the fuel system looks like.