ZCar Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I will be inheriting this mint condition 280zx, its been sitting since the early 90s the reason for it being dormant was due to it needing a water pump and im unsure of any other issues at this time. I’ve checked the oil and included photos and looks like the motor could be turned over (im not a certified mechanic). What i would like to know is what i will need to do in order to get it turned over.. any information would be helpful. Im aware it will need new fuel, coolant, engine oil, and to clean out the gas tank and replace fuel pump and filter am i missing anything else?

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
1983 280ZX Turbo
1,408 Posts
Start by searching threads here. We get this question about once a week, and there are any number of threads discussing the process.

Your initial list in the last sentence is a really good start. Obvious stuff is hoses, belts, vacuum lines and any other perishables. Cleaning the fuel hoses and injector rails, and replacing fuel filter, are also on the list.

Then come back with specific questions and we'll help.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Well that “looks” in a good shape!

If it was me, I would:

1. Flush the entire cooling system several times but not with too much pressure. Then refill with 50:50 distilled / de-ionised water and IAT (normally blue) anti-freeze! This will help reduce further corrosion too! Clearly, replace the water pump :p oh and add a new fan belt for good measure.